So you’re moving to the Cloud? Your Outlook client is 2010 or 2013? Want to make sure that users do not experience pop-ups in their client? Assuming you’ve done a bit of homework, you have your Client Access Strategy all line up. Depending on which Exchange version you have now, your client access might be 2007, 2010 or 2013. If you are in need of a Hybrid server, you also know that AutoDiscover will go through that server. Planning this now will save a lot of help desk calls and hours of troubleshooting issues. You’ve also identified all Shared Mailboxes that will be moved with the groups of users that access them.
However, there is a ‘little known’ feature that Outlook 2010 has called Team or Group Calendar. Basically what’s happening is Outlook is checking with AD to see you your manager is, finding all users accounts with that manager and creating a group of calendars in Outlook’s calendar view. It looks something like this:
The issue arises when a mailbox is moved to the cloud, has a manager and there are other users with the same manager. When that mailbox is moved, users on-prem suddenly get prompted for credentials. You may think it’s AutoDiscover, or some setting on the Hybrid server. However, it could be the Team Calendar that is now auto-populated by Outlook that is causing your pain.
How do we resolve this issue?
There are a couple of options:
- Move all users with the same manager to the cloud at the same time. This eliminates any need for cross-forest authentication and thus no need for credentials to be prompted for by the client.
- Disable the Team Calendar in the Outlook client temporarily by unchecking “Show Manager’s Team Calendar”:
- More permanently, you can also utilize a GPO as referenced here to push out a registry entries to block this from being an option.
- The last option is to uncheck any user who has moved to the cloud. This may require you to restart Outlook to remove any pop-ups, but it does seem to work as well as the other solutions.
In testing I was able to remove the credential pop-ups by entering in credentials for the moved user in the cloud. Obviously this is neither ideal nor a practical solution to the problem, but it was something that worked in a test lab with accounts and passwords that I had set for the lab.
The advice here is similar to almost everything that is being moved to the cloud. If it is connected, move it together. Whether we are referring to Team Calendars, or delegates, or Shared Mailboxes, or any number of things. If there needs to be access, then both objects (accessed object and accessee) should be on the same platform (Office 365 or Exchange On Prem).Advertisements